Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Joe D 2 posts 22 karma points
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 04:58
    Joe D

Using Umbraco with External Service

I am very new to Umbraco and am in the investigative phase to see if it is able to do for us what we need in a new CMS project. So far Umbraco looks great, but there are a few questions in particular I haven't been able to find the answers to.

I have noticed when setting up Umbraco that the only options for configuring a data source are with databases. Due to security policies in our web environment, we are not permitted to host a database in our external layer. Therefore all CRUD operations are handled via an API that we have available to interface our website with the database.

Is it possible for Umbraco to use this service to store content in place of a direct database connection? If so, what would be the best way to implement this? For that matter, can Umbraco even be used without a direct database connection? I see that Contour has some capabilities for connecting to a service, however it looks like its more for CRUD operations on the actual website and not for saving content from the CMS. 

On top of this we would also need to authenticate users of the CMS with our own identity service. We haven't developed this service yet, but it is likely that it will use either SAML or OAUTH. I do believe I've seen that others are doing something similar to this, but would be great if someone could confirm that it is possible.

• Andy Butland 422 posts 2334 karma points MVP 4x hq c-trib
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 15:38
    Andy Butland

I can't see how you could do that Joe - Umbraco does need a database connection for reading and writing of data and I'm not aware of any way to swap that out.