Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Bilal Haidar 144 posts 410 karma points
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 15:59
    Bilal Haidar

Create folders - upload files using backend

Hello,

How can I create folders and upload files to umbraco root folder using backend only? 

Thanks

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 16:39
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Bilal

You can probably use the API in order to achieve this - But could you tell us a bit more about your scenario? Why do you want to be able to use the backoffice to save images in the umbraco root folder? Is there any reason why the media section is not able to deal with your scenario?

Looking forward to hearing from you.

/Jan

Dec 05, 2014 @ 16:59
    Bilal Haidar

Hello,

I am still learning Umbraco and following CWS video series. I needed to create a folder Assets inside Umbraco root folder. So what's practice?

Thanks

Dec 05, 2014 @ 17:09
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Bilal

If it's images for use in CSS then you can create an assets folder in the root folder where you can create folders for your css, system images and javascript files.

So in your root folder you can have this structure

Umbraco (rootfolder) - Assets - css - images - javascript

Then in your templates, you can reference your css and javascript files from here. And in your CSS you can reference the images in the images folder.

Content images should be uploaded and used using the Umbraco Media section and then be rendered out in your templates using macroes for instance.