Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Linda 5 posts 25 karma points
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 07:34
    Linda

Database setup and Member save

I am new to Umbraco. I wonder where memers are stored? If I have a sql DB, is it possible the member/user stored in my DB? how to do it? Thanks.

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 07:55
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Linda and welcome to our :)

Members are created in the Member section in the Umbraco backoffice and is saved in the cmsMember2MemberGroup table.

If you need to migrate members from another database into Umbraco you should consider using the CMSimport package for this. Be aware that it's a commercial package though but a single domain license is only 99€ and it's well spent if it saves you hours of work.

Hope this helps.

/Jan

Dec 11, 2014 @ 04:55
    Linda

Hi, Jan,

Thanks, I found the DB name. Can I see the tables in SQL management studio? I tried to access the DB in Management Studio but there is no table at all. I just started the development so I don't need to import anything. I need to create some other tables related the member table.

Is there any sample for the registration page?

Thanks,

Lihua

Dec 11, 2014 @ 05:57
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Lihua

If you chose MSSQL during the installation process then yes you can see the tables using MSSQL server management client.

But since you're unsure about the database name I suspect you have installed Umbraco on SQL CE, which is the default embedded database option when installing. Unless you chose to "Customize" your installation and chose MSSQL as your database then it's running SQL CE.

You can use webmatrix to migrate the database from CE SQL to MSSQL. But you can also exten SQL CE. If you use Webmatrix you're able to see the database structure as well.