Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• samyhrer 4 posts 24 karma points
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 16:56
    samyhrer

Umbraco Site Architecture - Multiple sites that share content

Hi.

I'm fairly new to Umbraco, only spent a few days evaluating version 7.2 for an upcoming project. So far it has met almost all of my demands. I would really appreciate some advice on how to organize my data in order to support the following unsolved scenario:

I will have to support multiple sites that share a common set of content, but each site will only show a subset of it. Which content should be visible where is configured by the editor by adding metadata to the content, i.e checkboxes such as

[x] Show in Site X 
    [x] Show in site Y 
    [  ] Show in site Z

A piece of content can be visible at multiple sites at the same time.

In essence all pages that aggregate data, as well as site search, within a site needs to filter out non-relevant content. Workflow is shared, so visibility on each site is, after the item is published, only controlled by the given flags.

I've looked at two strategies:

Copy on save:

Have a "Master content"-tree and create additional content trees for each site by hooking into the Save and publish workflow in the "Master content"-tree" and copy the content to the sites where it should be visible.

I would although assume that this approach would lead to a lot of bookkeeping in order to also copy content that are connected to the published item, such as the relations-API, attached binaries etc.

Virtual sites:

Have a "Master content"-tree for all content and create "virtual" sites which basically just holds a configuration that identifies which site it is. This configuration is used in all templates or functions that aggregate content in order to filter out non-relevant content for that site