Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mads 9 posts 29 karma points
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 15:54
    Mads

Notify members by email, when new member is created

I'm still new to Umbraco, and I'm trying to wrap my head around some of the basics still.

Currently, I'm building a website, where my clients have a bunch of customers, which will be created as members on the website, so they can access parts of the website which are closed to the public.

My issue is, that I don't receive an email with login-credentials when I create a new member, using my own email address. I figure this is:

1. Because the member-system in Umbraco don't send out email with credentials per default
    2. I messed something up in my web.config file or I need to do something in my web.config file.
    Now, I'm pretty sure I've got a working mailserver referenced. It's a public SMTP-server on the webhotel, where the site is hosted, with no authentication needed, running on port 25 per default.
    My question is: Is there some configuration I need to do, to get the built in membership-functionality to send out emails to the members that are being created, or do I need to tamper with umbracos default functionality, and write a class that does this?
    I hope my question doesn't cause too much confusion. Please ask if you need me to ellaborate on something. Thanks!

• Gus Braz 14 posts 38 karma points
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 04:56
    Gus Braz

I have the same question! My mail server is working as I get notifications for the Umbraco Forms submitted! I just need to email new members once their logins are created in the backoffice. 

Does anybody know how to do it in Umbraco 7.2.1?

Thanks in advance,

Gus 

• Gus Braz 14 posts 38 karma points
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 06:28
    Gus Braz

I have done it.

First I created a class RegisterEvents:

public class RegisterEvents : ApplicationEventHandler

{