Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tom 161 posts 322 karma points
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 12:52
    Tom

C# LINQ and Umbraco

Hi:

I'm new to Umbraco.

After a successful install, I have created my first a document type called NewsLine.  It has 3 the following Generic properties (Title (text), Contents (RTE) and Article Date (DatePicker) 

I wish to create a C# console application to populate the associated Umbraco table with 10,000 rows of data.

Does anyone have a C# asp.NET LINQ example stub to get me started.

Thanks

• Alex Skrypnyk 6148 posts 24077 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 15:41
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hi Tom,

You can easily use Umbraco Services for retrieving and manipulating data from Umbraco.

http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Reference/Management-v6/Services/ContentService

Thanks

• Jeavon Leopold 3074 posts 13631 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 15:41
    Jeavon Leopold

Hi Tom,

I've not used it but there is a example console application here that uses the ContentService to create content.

Jeavon

Jan 20, 2015 @ 20:49
    Tom

jeavon:

Thank you very much for the link.  However, I am having trouble with the console application.

After changing the umbracoDbDSN connection string I recompiled the console application and ran it.  It worked!

Note:  Iam using VS 2013.

But when I ran it the second thrid time, my VIsual Studio debugger errored out on this line.