Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• EsqJ 11 posts 54 karma points
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 13:17
    EsqJ

Newbie Question From a PHP developer - 'custom' code?

I am a PHP developer but looking to start an Umbraco project, i understand the basics of creating a simple content managed site using doc types etc.

What i want to understand though is how i implement custom code that is not text/image content? for example i have an API i want to connect to, to bring back certain data and display that data on one of my pages or i have a form that i want to capture and then send the details to an API?

How do i get that 'code' into my page, what language do i write it in and where? i know i need to do it in .net (razor?) but my understanding of .net is limited, all i know is it involves dll files and other crazy stuff. I presume i can't just write a single block of code in one place to achieve something like i could in PHP?

Am i over thinking how tricky this could be?

If someone could explain this to me like i am 5 years old that would much appreciated :D

• Andy Butland 422 posts 2334 karma points MVP 4x hq c-trib
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 21:25
    Andy Butland

Hi EsqJ

My daughter is just coming on 5 so tried this out with her :-).  She wasn't very interested I'm afraid, but hopefully I can still help you a bit!

I'd suggest actually the questions you are asking don't relate so much to Umbraco, more to .Net itself, and particularly in building web application using ASP.Net MVC.  So it's probably worth a bit of background reading on that.