Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Alex 30 posts 120 karma points
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 20:28
    Alex

Bug? Lost access to my stylesheets/templates

Hi everyone,

I had a strange thing happen to my umbraco backend a couple days ago. I basically lost access to my stylesheets and templates from the umbraco backend (I am an administrator with full access and run Umbraco 7). I could see them at their respective location in the menus (settings->templates->mytemplate), however when trying to access them, the window would get stuck during the loading phase and the content would never appear.

This happened out of the blue. 

I did a new deployment and copied/pasted all the umbraco related files, without restoring the database, and it all came back together. Now I am worried that this might occur again once my site goes live. Would anyone have some insights of what the causes could be?

• Ryios 122 posts 263 karma points
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 21:10
    Ryios

Sounds like they no longer existed in the physical disk. They will still show up in the back office if they don't exist on disk. Could something else have happened to make them no longer be on the disk?

Templates/Css/Js etc are not physically stored in the database, just references to them.

Feb 11, 2015 @ 21:12
    Alex

Thanks for the quick reply mate. The issue is that they still were physically there, which is why I am getting confused. I did have a couple guys adding content at the same time, but they would not have been able to remove anything.

Feb 11, 2015 @ 21:33
    Ryios

How are you deploying, just copying stuff out or doing a publish from visual studio with MSDeploy?

Feb 11, 2015 @ 21:37
    Ryios

Also, it could have been an angular js issue.