Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tom 161 posts 322 karma points
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 13:30
    Tom

News Example

We created a content type named NewsArticles) that has our required fields (Title, SubTitle, Description and Date).
    Note: When we created the content type (NewsArticles) we also created the matching template.

In our site we have 5 places where we have created content based on NewsArticles.

I now need some generic Razor logic to loop through each site's NewsArticles and display on a screen.
    I also need to know how to convert my template to a partial view.

As I am new to Razor and Umbraco, can somehow point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Tom

• Dennis Aaen 4500 posts 18255 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 21:01
    Dennis Aaen

Hi Tom,

You need to use your news items 5 differeent places on your website, then you can create a partial view or a patial view macro and inserted it on the template where the news items should appears.

I have made some razor code that should point you in the right direction, depeding on how your content / site structure is. But here is the code that you should you for getting news items that you can reuse on the your site.

@{
        @* Get the root of the website *@
        var root = CurrentPage.AncestorOrSelf(1).Descendants("umbNewsOverview").FirstOrDefault();
    }

<ul>
        @foreach (var page in root.Children.Where("Visible"))
        {
            <li class="@(page.IsAncestorOrSelf(CurrentPage) ? "current" : null)">
                <a href="@page.Url">@page.Name</a>
            </li>
        }
    </ul>