Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jurgen Van de Water 18 posts 68 karma points
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 16:54
    Jurgen Van de Water

Reuse umbraco grid with custom viewmodel

I'm new to the new umbraco grid functionality and I have a question about it.

I have a page with an article where I use the grid functionality to show some image and text besides that image. This is working fine.

In the properties of that page I have put a checkbox for saying that the article is for sale or not, when checked the product should automatically appear on a for sale page.

I can get the product that is for sale on that page, but now I also want to show the image and text on that page. I've created a List with a custom viewmodel to hold the content for every product that is for sale. The problem is with providing the JObject to the GetGridHtml function. This function wants a string and I'm providing the property which results in an error.

What is the best way to get the content for the grid to show on that separate page?

@inherits Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoTemplatePage
    @{
         var home = CurrentPage.Site();

List<ForSaleItemsViewModel> forSaleItemsVM = new List<ForSaleItemsViewModel>();

if(home.Children.Any())
         {        
             foreach(var childPage in home.Children)
             {
                 if(childPage.Children.Any())
                 {
                     foreach(var child in childPage.Children)
                     {
                         if(child.HasProperty("ForSale") && child.ForSale)
                         {
                               forSaleItemsVM.Add(new ForSaleItemsViewModel
                                                {
                                                    ID = 1,
                                                    Content = child.Content,
                                                    Sold = child.Sold