Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Stephanie Nicolaou 33 posts 91 karma points
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 21:03
    Stephanie Nicolaou

Guide to importing .aspx with .aspx.cs files in Umbraco 7

Hi All,

I'm new to Umbraco and although there are some slightly similar posts regarding this, they are a few years old or do not answer everything.

1. Starting with the aspx.cs file. I've read that this needs to become a master.cs file so in the backend under the 'Masterpages' folder, I have created a MasterPage.master.cs file and copied everything from aspx.cs into it.

Please can you confirm whether this is still the correct method?

1.1. If so, what does my namespace name change to? In visual studio it was the name of the project however in Umbraco, what do I use? default.Master? Change the class name to Root and System.Web.UI.Page to System.Web.UI.MasterPage? There's not error at the moment but I've kept the namespace as it is and will let you know if there is a problem.

2. The aspx file. I have created a template which references the masterpage.master.cs file I created. It seems to be picking it up fine, however I had an asp form in my aspx file which the template is not picking up on and it is not shown in the content of the file. E.g.:

[code]

<%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/Masterpages/MasterPage.master.cs" AutoEventWireup="true" %>
    <form runat="server" id= "form" >                     
    <asp:TextBox ID="txtUsername" runat="server" />   
    <asp:Button Text="Submit" runat="server" OnClick="btnSubmit" />
    </form>

[/code]

Please can you confirm point 1 and support me on point 2? It would be much appreciated as there is not really any official documentation or user guides.

Kind regards,

Steph

• Stephanie Nicolaou 33 posts 91 karma points
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 13:09
    Stephanie Nicolaou