Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Joshua Walsh 30 posts 151 karma points
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 04:43
    Joshua Walsh

Where to put Models in Umbraco 7

Hi,

I'm still very new to Umbraco 7. I'm trying to create reusable components using Razor Partials, loosely following this guide https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Reference/Mvc/forms/turorial-partial-views. I'm making a reusable banner element to start off with.

It doesn't say where that code should actually go, so I created a Banner.cs file in the Models folder to hold the model code, then a Banner.cshtml file in Views/Partials for the view. I don't really have any business logic for the banner, it just displays values from the model, so I haven't made a Controller file yet.

When I try to display the partial view in my layout using @Html.Partial("Banner.cshtml", new Banner("@CurrentPage.bannerTitle")) I get the following error:

The type or namespace name 'Banner' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)

I tried putting the contents of Banner.cs in a namespace and then @using the namespace in my layout, but this gave me an error about missing a reference.

Thanks,

Josh

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 05:27
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Joshua

Is it by purpose you're creating your own model? Where does the model fetch data from? Is it external data you want to fetch? Or is it actually data that exist in the Umbraco content section? In that case it should not be necessary to make your own model.

If it's on purpose then please try reading this article by Bo Mortensen about creating your own models, controllers etc. http://24days.in/umbraco/2013/creating-reusable-code-in-mvc-apps/

Hope this helps.

/Jan

Feb 24, 2015 @ 05:43
    Joshua Walsh

Hi Jan, thanks for your reply.