Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Stephen Turley 2 posts 22 karma points
    Feb 26, 2015 @ 00:09
    Stephen Turley

Passing id to a controller

Hello, I'm quite new to Umbraco and I'm stuck on a basic requirement for which I cannot seem to get going as I would have expected. 

I want to perform a basic get request for, example, /product/{action}/{id}. Which will hit the expected controller and action with an id and return a view with a populated custom model. I'll be using this link in a DataTables grid.

My latest attempts have led to Umbraco failing to find a page 5 when I try /product/get/5 which sounded like a route problem.  Is there a complete example for me to follow so I can see where I have gone wrong? 

I've picked up an example which got me going to a degree:

http://shazwazza.com/post/Custom-MVC-routing-in-Umbraco

But when I needed to pass a custom model that's when I get into a mess and my route didn't seem to work and I had to pass an id as a querystring in order for it to work.

In a nutshell I have:

• ProductController : RenderMvcController with public ActionResult GetProduct(int? id, ProductRenderModel model)
    • ProductController GetProduct return CurrentTemplate(model);
    • ConsentRenderModel : RenderModel with constructorpublic ConsentRenderModel() : base(new UmbracoHelper(UmbracoContext.Current).TypedContent(UmbracoContext.Current.PageId)) {}
    • CustomStartupHandler : IApplicationEventHandler which has a custom route for "Product/{action}/{id}
    • In Umbraco I have a Product document type, template and also a content/node page.  I've pulled up the physical view Product.cshtml and changed it to @inherits Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoViewPage<ProductRenderModel> and placed html to show properties of the model.

Might be too much to ask but any help much appreciated.  An example would be good.

Thank you.