Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Chris Capewell 4 posts 25 karma points
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 11:23
    Chris Capewell

Hello, I'm new to Umbraco

Hello,

As the title says, I'm new to Umbraco and have a load of questions to ask, so please stick with me, or tell me to sling my hook if I'm in the wrong place.

I have a starter site with 7.1.8 loaded and so far, its easy for a novice like me, but ....

I want to add some extra stuff, like a better text editor, a simple gallery (ideally with shadow box display) and a blog.

Non of the above needs to be complicated, simple is the key word here!

Can you point me in the right direction please?

Please also remember I am a novice and very new to this. My site is hosted by Web Wiz, who have been very helpful and tollerent with me!

I look forward to reading your advice and guidance.

Cheers

Chris.

• Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 11:43
    Martin Griffiths

Hello Chris

Welcome to the world of Umbraco! First off can I the question...Do you have any kind of computer programming or scripting background?

Kind regards

Martin

Mar 02, 2015 @ 12:57
    Chris Capewell

Martin (et-al),

Fallen at the first jump! No.

As I say, I am a novice, but I am keen to 'have a go' at anything; after all, you don't know what you can do until you try!

Chris.

• John C Scott 473 posts 1183 karma points
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 13:03
    John C Scott

I was told many years ago that there is as much value in asking questions on this forum as there is in answering them. Great to have you here and welcome to the friendly CMS :) Also webwhiz that's a great tip! They look very good.

Mar 02, 2015 @ 13:07
    Chris Capewell

John,

Thanks for your reply, it's great to know.

Web Wiz have been excellent with me - highly recommended.

• Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 13:15