Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Stephanie Nicolaou 33 posts 91 karma points
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 20:47
    Stephanie Nicolaou

Pass variable on click of link to function within template

Hi all,

I'm quite new to umbraco so I need to know how the fundamentals with functions work. I would like to know if I can pass a variable to a function when an unordered list link is clicked, assign it to an existing variable and then return that updated variable back to the body of the page.

So far I can assign a variable for each list item and I have tried to pass that value to a function with the hyperlink reference tag, a href:

[code]
    foreach (dynamic secondPage in page.Children){
    var itemtest = secondPage.Name;                               
    <li><a href="@afunction(itemtest)">@secondPage.Name</a></li>[/code]

In the function I am simply trying to assign the itemtest variable to an existing variable called 'anothertest' however when trying to display this in the body there is no result.

[code]
    @functions {   
    public string anothertest {get; set;}
    public string afunction(string b) {   
    @anothertest = @b;                   
    return anothertest;
        }
    }
    [/code]

If someone could guide me on the basics of this that would be much appreciated. As I only want to reassign a variable on click of a link, I don't think a partial view is required.

Steph

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 21:11
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Steph

What is the purpose of your function? What should it do for you? Can you ellaborate a bit more about what it is you're trying to achieve? The above scenario seem a bit abstract :)

/Jan

Mar 09, 2015 @ 22:00
    Stephanie Nicolaou

Hi Jan,