Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jason Espin 368 posts 1335 karma points
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 12:32
    Jason Espin

Umbraco 7 Urls and SEO

Hi all,

I am currently coming to the end of my first major website that I have developed since becoming a Level 2 Umbraco certified developer. The site is an upgrade from an old dated site running on a custom CMS to a fully automated Umbraco installation that works with a 3rd party product and its web services to generate content pages based upon entries made to a database on our client's shared desktop software.

As is always the case, our client after reviewing the site has some concerns with regards to SEO and how Umbraco Urls are structured as they believe their products and services are nested too far down in the tree and that this somehow effects their SEO negatively. I will admit now that I am no SEO expert and consider the whole SEO thing a bit of a black art that seems to change each week so can anyone give me any advice with regards to this in an Umbraco context?

This is where the site currently sits if you wish to take a look: http://tinyurl.com/umbracourlstructure

The way we have structured the pages is as follows: (1) = Level {X} = Not in Main Navigation

(1)->Home
      (2)--> Destinations
        (3)---> South America [Continent]
          (4)----> Argentina [Country] {X}
            (5)-----> Buenos Aires [Area] {X}
              (6)------> Buenos Aires [City] {X}
                 (7)-------> Package Product 1 {X}
                 (7)-------> Package Product 2 {X}
                 (7)-------> Package Product 3 {X}
                 (7)-------> Hotel Product 1 {X}
                 (7)-------> Hotel Product 2 {X}
                 (7)-------> Hotel Product 3 {X}
                 (7)-------> Activity Product 1 {X}
                 (7)-------> Activity Product 2 {X}
                 (7)-------> Activity Product 3 {X}