Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Wally Hartshorn 3 posts 23 karma points
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 22:45
    Wally Hartshorn

Media folders and files missing

I'm brand new to Umbraco and am still experimenting with it to decide whether this is what we want to use. I'm very impressed with its power, but have run into a problem.

Last week, I created a small Umbraco web site on my PC.

On Wednesday, I went to the Media screen, created a folder, and uploaded a couple of images in that folder.

On Friday, I went to the Media screen again, created some more folders, and uploaded several files (a few images and several PDFs).

On Monday (today), I went to the Media screen and found that the folders I created on Friday were missing, as were the files that I uploaded. HOWEVER, the files were still present on the file system and are still displayed properly by my Umbraco web site. Also, the folder that I created Wednesday is NOT missing; it and its files still show up on the Media screen.

I've tried "Reload Nodes", but that doesn't fix the problem.

This might or might not be related, but the default sample site that is installed has numerous files in the media directory on the file system, but NONE of those files show up in the Media page.

Any idea what the cause of the problem might be and how I can get those nodes to show up again?

Umbraco version 7.2.4 assembly: 1.0.5557.19139
    .Net Framework 4.5.1
    Windows 7 Enterprise SP1
    Visual Studio 2013

• Jeroen Breuer 4908 posts 12265 karma points MVP 4x admin c-trib
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:08
    Jeroen Breuer

Hello,

Did you customize the installation when installing Umbraco? By default Umbraco uses SQL CE which stores the database locally. Maybe something went wrong with the database. Maybe that's why the files are still there, but not displayed in the backoffice.

Jeroen

Apr 21, 2015 @ 15:37
    Wally Hartshorn