Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Hannah Anais 10 posts 50 karma points
    May 17, 2015 @ 18:08
    Hannah Anais

How do I set up Umbraco7 and Web Hosting

I have been learning Umbraco 7 by running it using WebMatrix. I am really enjoying it and think it is a very powerful CMS. However, I am now facing a stubling block going forward. I don't know how to find hosting for Umbraco 7 or set it up.

In the past I had a site hosted by 123 REG. They offer Umbraco as a 'one click' install with a hosting package but this is only Umbraco 4.7. How would I update this to 7? I know I will need hosting that offers a Windows database but I am not technical enough to know how to set a database up. Should I have just learnt Wordpress where most hosting providers offer it as a simple 'one click' install and update?

Any help welcome.

Thanks

• TikTakToe 60 posts 102 karma points
    May 17, 2015 @ 20:36
    TikTakToe

Hi

You can install it on a windows server without having to use a separate sql, as you can install using sql ce (the default).

One click installs are just there for convenience - you can download version 7, install it locally, then just copy all the files up to your hosting account and it will work (you may need to set up file/folder permissions manually which the one click installer may do - see https://our.umbraco.org/wiki/reference/files-and-folders/permissions, bit outdated but gives you the idea)

stick with umbraco, it's worth it!

cheers

ian

• John Palmer 76 posts 201 karma points
    May 18, 2015 @ 05:23
    John Palmer

Hi Hannah,