Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ross Brooker 3 posts 23 karma points
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 15:26
    Ross Brooker

Save and Publish returns a blank error

Hi,

We've got a new site built for us by a third party agency, with Umbraco 7.2.2
    I'm a developer who is trying to troubleshoot problems for my marketing department who are looking after all the content, but I'm doing this from a standing start, so please treat me gently!

So here's the issue:  the marketing guys have created / uploaded quite a lot of content, but a lot of it isn't appearing on the site.

When I click 'Save and Publish' I get 

----------

Received an error from the server

An error occurred

EXCEPTION DETAILS:

:

STACKTRACE:

-------------

... and that's it.  Not very helpful!  

Is there anything I can look at?  There's every possibility I've missed something / done something wrong whilst getting this installed on the server, but with that error message I'm struggling to know where to start!

Edit:  Oops, sorry I should have searched the forums better,  I found another thread with the same error which was down to the SQL side...

I have the config provided me to which I've amended to use the correct credentials, but I've noticed this part:

<system.data>

<DbProviderFactories>

<remove invariant="System.Data.SqlServerCe.4.0"/>

<add name="Microsoft SQL Server Compact Data Provider 4.0" invariant="System.Data.SqlServerCe.4.0" description=".NET Framework Data Provider for Microsoft SQL Server Compact" type="System.Data.SqlServerCe.SqlCeProviderFactory, System.Data.SqlServerCe"/>

<remove invariant="MySql.Data.MySqlClient"/>

<add name="MySQL Data Provider" invariant="MySql.Data.MySqlClient" description=".Net Framework Data Provider for MySQL" type="MySql.Data.MySqlClient.MySqlClientFactory, MySql.Data"/>

</DbProviderFactories>

</system.data>