Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Dan Smith 5 posts 76 karma points
    Aug 10, 2015 @ 01:09
    Dan Smith

Query Builder never returns any results

Hi!

I'm new to Umbraco and so I'm probably making a basic mistake, but here goes:

I have created a simple Document Type, "Hours of Operation", and added 7 textstring properties for each day of the week. I just want to use this to store the hours the shop is open. I enabled "Allow at root" and saved it. Then I went to Content and created an instance of "Hours of Operation" and filled out the 7 fields.

Then I created a new template and called it "Master" with the intentions of making it the master page for all others. While editing the master page, and I try to use the Query Builder, no combination of I want "everything" from "my website" returns any results.

I have verified that the hours of operation are published but nothing I do returns results. Do I need to create a data type or something?

Thanks!

T

• Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Aug 10, 2015 @ 07:07
    Sebastiaan Janssen

I'm not entirely sure what you're expecting to get back but when you first start the query builder, it should look a little like this:

enter image description here

Here you see I have one result, the Blog is the root of my website. If you have any published(!) content in the root of your site you should see something similar for your Hours of Operation root node. Is that what you're not seeing?

Aug 10, 2015 @ 13:51
    Dan Smith

Yes, I am expecting to see something similar to your example. However, when I try I get nothing:

The only thing I can think is that I do not have a template assigned to this document type because I only want the document type to store 7 strings that I can query later and use in a master page.

Aug 10, 2015 @ 14:30
    Sebastiaan Janssen