Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Waleed Eissa 1 post 71 karma points
    Aug 20, 2015 @ 17:21
    Waleed Eissa

Creating a photo gallery in Umbraco 7

I'm new to Umbraco. I'm looking for a way to create a photo gallery in Umbraco 7.

Your help is much appreciated.

• Ben 5 posts 120 karma points
    Aug 21, 2015 @ 13:28
    Ben

A good start is this tutorial from the umbraco website:

http://umbraco.com/help-and-support/video-tutorials/umbraco-fundamentals/razor-recipes/gallery

Regards

• Damien Green 72 posts 134 karma points
    Aug 22, 2015 @ 21:59
    Damien Green

Hi Waleed,

If all depends on how complex you want your gallery to be. You could just add a multi media picker property editor to one of your pages in the backend and then just iterate though the images and display them on your front page.

However if you wish to be a bit more adventurous, I'm just finishing off a photo gallery package for Umbraco, while I can't offer a detailed description of exactly what I did, I can point you in the right direction and let you know the sorts of things you need to consider.

You're going to need to add a custom property editor to the backend and a a means of displaying the gallery to you site visitors on the frontend. The backend is where you can upload photos and arrange them in a gallery. The frontend is where you can display you photos on an Umbraco page.

THE BACKEND: Firstly the Backend. You need to search for a tutorial on how to create a property editor in Umbraco, this is the tutorial I used http://umbraco.github.io/Belle/#/tutorials/CreatingAPropertyEditor. This makes use of angular JavaScript, which is something you're going to need to get at least a rudimentary knowledge of.