Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Andrew Hawken 59 posts 116 karma points c-trib
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:09
    Andrew Hawken

Umbraco Development Workflow

As a relative Umbraco newbie I'm struggling with Umbraco development workflow and I'd really like some pointers.

Here's what I'm trying to do and the friction points...

I create a new project in VS2013 and create a web project, nuget in umbraco and press go. This builds me a site, with the SQL in App_Data.

I fiddle around with this site - maybe make some changes catching backend events (in visual studio), and setup some templates and css and document types (in umbraco and maybe VS. as the code editor is better). Great. All working locally.

Lets do a git commit. No idea what a decent .gitignore is for this, so I probably commit a load of things I shouldn't. (is there a standard one?)

Now I want to publish to an Azure web app. So I script the current database and setup one on Azure and fire the structure / data into that. That's data taken care of. I setup an Azure app and publish into that. I've muddled through that by adding a load of folders into the project in order that they get published. That was a mess, but somehow (after I use the Azure portal to set the connection string.) I've got a working site.

Great. But now I'm confused. How do people go about making changes to code and templates. If I make changes to templates on my published site, then they are just made "live" with no hope of source code control. If I make them locally, then how do I publish those?

I'm sure there is a tried and tested workflow - some best practices for this, if someone could point me in the right direction?

• Zack 12 posts 112 karma points
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:14
    Zack

While using VS2013 this tutorial should assist you with the basic's of creating, editing, marcos, partial views