Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Owain Williams 481 posts 1413 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Oct 14, 2015 @ 08:37
    Owain Williams

Add a page summary to homepage

Hi all, I'm using the Grid Layout in 7.3 and I'm hitting a problem which I can't get my head around. What I want to be able to do is select a page within the back office which will feature on the homepage.

I have a checkbox on my properties which has the type true/false

What I would like to do is somehow display any pages that have the box checked on to the homepage within a 3 column row.

I'm thinking I might need to work with a partial view to accomplish this but never very sure.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm working my way through the Umbraco TV videos in the hope that might help as well. :)

EDIT:

So, I have my masterpage and then my Home template. Within the Home template I have

@inherits Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoTemplatePage
    @{
        Layout = "Master.cshtml";
    }
    @CurrentPage.GetGridHtml("content")

@{ Html.RenderPartial("featuredArticles"); }

Within my featuredArticles I have

@{  
            var selection= CurrentPage.Children("TextPage").Where("featuredPage == true").Where("Visible");
            }

@if (selection.Any())
        {
            <ul>
                @foreach (var item in selection)
                {
                    <li><a href="@item.Url">@item.Name</a></li>
                }
            </ul>
        }

My content tree looks like this:

Home
    -About
    -Pages
    --Page1
    --Page2 (featured True)

Still trying to work out how to get the partial view in to my GridLayout as there only seems to be the option for Macros, do I need to convert the Partial view to a macro to use Grids.

The above code also doesn't display the featured pages yet but I'm working on that as well!

• Ben McKean 272 posts 549 karma points
    Oct 14, 2015 @ 10:14
    Ben McKean