Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Roger Dunbar 7 posts 77 karma points
    Dec 02, 2015 @ 19:45
    Roger Dunbar

Passing updated view model to partial view after post (Best practice)

Hi Guys,

I imagine that this is something that has been asked before but I've searched and searched and searched and cannot seem to find a definitive answer - so please forgive my ignorance.

Imagine a scenario where I have a master template, inheriting from the Umbraco Template Page class. This page has a number of partial views that are strongly typed (using view models) and contain forms that post to a Surface Controller.

So we click on submit on one of the forms in and this submits to the Surface Controller action which does some work, could be many different things, and then we reload the current Umbraco page.

Ideally at this point we want to be able for the above controller action to populate a view model and find a way of sending this back to the partial view that is being called from the master template/view.

This appears to be my dilemma. At present, and I'm less than happy about it, I create the view model and assign it to TempData, when the master template/view (it is likely to be a nested template) is being executed it identifies if there is a view model in TempData and uses this, alternatively it generates a new one to pass in as the model to the Partial View.

Phew! I hope this makes sense because it's confusing the hell out of me.

So...assuming that this is clearly NOT best practice, how do other developers in the community handle this scenario, i.e. finding a way to pass back strongly typed model data to a partial view that could potentially be a few nested levels down?

Or am I clearly thinking like a Web Forms developer? Part of me thinks I could do more in the view code itself, but I hate that, so I'm sure I'm missing a trick.

Thanks,

Rog