Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Rickard Liljeberg 23 posts 114 karma points
    Dec 10, 2015 @ 14:13
    Rickard Liljeberg

Linking document types together

I am very new to developing with Umbraco (but used .net mvc for years).

In this, my first project, I need to be able to create regions and categories where each region and category should contain description and possibly an image and be displayed as pages of their own.

Now this is easy enough, I create the document types, templates and go ahead and create some pages/nodes.

But here comes the trick... I now also need to create companies but each company can be active in one or more regions and fall within one or more categories. So if I create a Company document type, how do i then make it so that I can link to the regions/categories that this company is active in?

Would that be a kind of custom coupling or how do I accomplish this?

I also want to be able to on the page for a region list which companies (and link to) are active in that region.

Any hints would be appreciated!

• Ian 178 posts 752 karma points
    Dec 10, 2015 @ 21:30
    Ian

I have always used the nuPickers Package for umbraco to do this together with Umbraco's Relations feature. Once installed you can then create a new datatype which uses one of the available nuPickers Types and attach a property to one of your document types using that datatype. In my case I created a nupicker datatype which I named 'sector picker' this was a 'nuPickers: Xml PrefetchList' which can be configured to use umbraco's XPath queries to get content. My XPath query selected all children of a 'sector repository' document type i'd created.