Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ethan 12 posts 82 karma points
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 22:16
    Ethan

Removing Main Navigation For Landing Page

Is there a way to create a template or doc type that will have NO main menu, so that I can create a proper landing page?

How do I do that? Keep in mind I am a total noob with Umbraco and I may have more questions if I don't understand the instructions... thanks!!

• Jon R. Humphrey 164 posts 455 karma points c-trib
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 22:25
    Jon R. Humphrey

Ethan,

Just create a landing page doctype and template, check the properties of the doctype to be allowed at root, copy your landing page HTML into the template and add the landing page as the first child to the content tree.

You could do a lot more with redirections but this is the fastest and simplest way.

Feb 22, 2016 @ 23:18
    Ethan

I tried that and it did not work. Ive read all the docs. ive even had the person who created this site tell me how to do it and i follow all of that and it just does not work.

I need a template that does not have our header. i can create pages that have the header but i need to remove the header. this is not working... im giving up now. this is too frustrating.. thanks for the help but 4 months later its just not helpful... i need specific instructions not general because this doesnt make any sense to me.

I get errors each time no matter what. I created a doc type that copied the header with no content, and then i created the template and it either doesnt allow it in the folder or the home (yes root is allowed is checked and all node types and all doc types are checked)

it does not make sense

• Jon R. Humphrey 164 posts 455 karma points c-trib
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 00:04
    Jon R. Humphrey

Ethan,

Don't get too frustrated, once it clicks ... it really clicks!