Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Devin 87 posts 251 karma points
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 13:27
    Devin
    0

    Moving website causes AuthorizeUpgrade loop

    I recently upgrade from 7.2.8 to the latest 7.4.1. Everything went smoothly besides a couple of queries I had to run.

    If I try to move the database and files to my localhost (or vice versa to another host) then I'm constantly asked to AuthoriseUpgrade.

    I have cleared the cache, modified the ClientDependancy config and also made sure the bin files are all fresh (for testing sake). The version in the web.config is as it should be (7.4.1).

    Anyone know a way around this please as it's extremely frustrating.

    If I do actually run the installer, I get this message:

    The database failed to upgrade. ERROR: The database configuration failed with the following message: Invalid object name 'umbracoMigration'. Please check log file for additional information (can be found in '/App_Data/Logs/UmbracoTraceLog.txt')
    

    Looking in the database, I see the following, this looks strange right? I think that this is a DB issue?

    http://prntscr.com/a7bvs7

  • Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12133 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 13:42
    Dave Woestenborghs
    0

    Is your connectionstring pointing to the correct database ?

    Dave

  • Devin 87 posts 251 karma points
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 13:44
    Devin
    0

    Hi Dave,

    100% certain it is.

  • Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12133 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 13:45
    Dave Woestenborghs
    0

    Can you check if the table umbracoMigration is in the database ? This should been added as part of the upgrade.

    Dave

  • Devin 87 posts 251 karma points
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 13:46
    Devin
    0

    Yes, please check the screenshot here - http://prntscr.com/a7bvs7

  • Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12133 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 13:50
    Dave Woestenborghs
    1

    Hi Devin,

    Missed the screenshot in the original post. It seems you ran the upgrade using a different user/schema on the sql server. The tables should be prefixed with dbo.

    So it is a SQL server issue.

    Dave

  • Devin 87 posts 251 karma points
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 13:52
    Devin
    0

    Makes sense Dave - Thanks for the clarification. I did think the prefix looked strange.

    Is there any way to resolve this without having to go back and re-upgrade the older version? We have already made content updates to this instance of the website.

    Not even sure how I would've caused this to be honest.

  • Devin 87 posts 251 karma points
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 14:08
    Devin
    103

    Managed to resolve this myself using the following script:

    declare @sql varchar(8000), @table varchar(1000), @oldschema varchar(1000), @newschema   varchar(1000)
    
      set @oldschema = 'resuser'
      set @newschema = 'dbo'
    
     while exists(select * from sys.tables where schema_name(schema_id) = @oldschema)
    
      begin
          select @table = name from sys.tables 
          where object_id in(select min(object_id) from sys.tables where  schema_name(schema_id)  = @oldschema)
    
        set @sql = 'alter schema ' + @newschema + ' transfer ' + @oldschema + '.' + @table
    
       exec(@sql)
     end
    

    Thanks for your help Dave.

  • Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12133 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 14:18
    Dave Woestenborghs
    0

    Nice one..hope i remember this post when I run in to the same issue :-)

    Dave

  • Nigel Wilson 944 posts 2076 karma points
    Apr 27, 2016 @ 08:56
    Nigel Wilson
    0

    Devin - mate, you rock, I was at the "have another whiskey" stage on my new laptop and my websites not working.

    Thank you so much for sharing...

    Nigel

  • Pawel Bres 39 posts 160 karma points c-trib
    Aug 04, 2018 @ 16:23
    Pawel Bres
    0

    thank you Devin, this was exactly what I was looking for #h5yr

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft