Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Kate 267 posts 610 karma points
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 12:28
    Kate
    0

    link Picker output

    Hi

    On my frontpage I am using this Link Picker https://our.umbraco.org/projects/backoffice-extensions/link-picker/ and it works fin. My problem is that on my frontpage the user can insert a external link and I would like to use that link on at subpage. But I cant seem to get the right output. In my PartialViewMacroPage I have tried this:

        @{
                var brandLink1 = Model.Content.AncestorOrSelf(1).GetPropertyValue("brandLink1");
        }
    <p>@brandLink1</p>
    

    But the output is this:

    { "id": 0, "name": "", "url": "http://centurion.dk/", "target": "_self" }
    

    and I would like it to be just: http://centurion.dk/

    It's probably the GetPropertyValue that is wrong, but I dont know what to put insted :-)

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 16:10
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Kate

    At a first glance I'm wodnering if you have you tried to simply just write @brandLink1.url - Does that work?

    /Jan

  • Kate 267 posts 610 karma points
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 16:40
    Kate
    0

    That gives me an error. It's becaurse I'm getting the link-input from my frontpage and not from the pages that I'm currently at. Does that make any sense?

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 17:36
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Kate

    Just had a go with the package myself. I think some propertyvalueconverters are missing in order to make it possible for your to use it strongly typed.

    Dynamically it works by writing @CurrentPage.links.url - Which in your case should be @CurrentPage.brandLink1.url

    /Jan

  • Kate 267 posts 610 karma points
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 17:43
    Kate
    0

    The problem is that I cant use CurrentPage, because the link-information comes from another template(frontpage) and I want to use the link that the user insertet on a subpage.

    That's why I thought, that if I used this code I would get the information from my frontpage

        @{
    var brandLink1 = Model.Content.AncestorOrSelf(1).GetPropertyValue("brandLink1");
            }
    
  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 18:02
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Kate

    Ah yes, sorry about that - But you can actually use CurrentPage to fetch it from a subpage as well.

    You just need to write it like this @CurrentPage.AncestorOrSelf(1).brandLink1.url

    Hope this helps.

    /Jan

  • Søren Kottal 713 posts 4571 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 18:04
    Søren Kottal
    102

    Try

    @{
    var brandLink1 = Model.Content.AncestorOrSelf(1).GetPropertyValue<dynamic>("brandLink1");
    }
    
    @brandLink1.url
    
  • Kate 267 posts 610 karma points
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 18:18
    Kate
    0

    Jan: Sorry, it still doesen't work

    Søren: it works :-). Thanks. I'm really grateful

    Do you know where I can read more about this

  • Søren Kottal 713 posts 4571 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 18:25
  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies