Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Arnaud 3 posts 73 karma points
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 14:22
    Arnaud

Install a fresh copy of Umbraco 7.4.1 without an example site incorporated

Hi

I'm very new to Umbraco and after some browsing and searching for up to date tutorials, videos etc I have somewhat given up hope that there is any available, The videos on Umbraco.tv are outdated and the voiceover guy should stop eating before he records them because there are several instances where you can actually hear him digesting.

Essentially all I need is a fresh installtion - I'm installing via Nuget if that helps.

Can someone please help!

Cheers

Arnaud

• David Brendel 792 posts 2970 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 15:22
    David Brendel

Hi Arnaud,

• install umbraco through nuget
    • start project
    • choose "custom" when installer loads
    • go through Installation
    • done

Thats all you have to do.

Most of the videos in TV are still valid AS far as I know. The API hasn't really changed since 7.0.

Regards David

Mar 10, 2016 @ 15:26
    Arnaud

Hi David

Thank you for the response.

I'm pretty sure I did that and I still had a example site installed with content and document types etc which I do not need.

I will give it another bash in the morning and ensure I track my steps and will feedback.

With regards to the videos - I'm 100% sure they are outdated. Perhaps some of the principles are the same well most of them are if I think about it however the interface is completely different. Just being honest here....

Cheers

A

• David Brendel 792 posts 2970 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 15:32
    David Brendel

Hi Arnaud,

in the screen where you can select a starter kit there should be a link/ button below the 3 starter which skips the installation.

If it still adds a starter then this should be a bug. Can't test it myself right now.