Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Bryna 62 posts 223 karma points
    Feb 28, 2019 @ 21:14
    Bryna
    1

    Document Type Import

    Has anyone had success importing/exporting Document types from on instance of umbraco to another? I've been able to consistently replicate this on my development box utilizing a document that only has one textbox property on it.

    I can export from my development instance(operating under the assumption that the xml is valid). When I delete the document type and then turn around to re-import it, I get an HTTP 500 error at http://localhost/umbraco/backoffice/UmbracoApi/ContentType/Upload.

    I've only included the first few lines of the error because it is long: Possibly unhandled rejection: {"data":{"Message":"An error has occurred.","ExceptionMessage":"Value cannot be null.\r\nParameter name: path2","ExceptionType":"System.ArgumentNullException","StackTrace":" at System.IO.Path.Combine(String path1, String path2)\r\n at Umbraco.Web.Editors.ContentTypeController.

  • Søren Gregersen 283 posts 1140 karma points MVP c-trib
    Feb 28, 2019 @ 22:52
    Søren Gregersen
    100

    Hi,

    You should really create a bug report on github, or have a look if this has already been reported. https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/issues

  • Bryna 62 posts 223 karma points
    Mar 01, 2019 @ 14:05
    Bryna
    0

    Looks like it has been reported already. Thank you.

  • Roger 8 posts 28 karma points
    May 01, 2019 @ 16:52
    Roger
    0

    I have found in Umbraco 8.02 I do not get the Browse button just the Import and Cancel. When I click Import it gives me browse window, I can select the udt, and it closes, nothing else happens. Buttom line Still cannot import

  • Lewis Smith 192 posts 577 karma points c-trib
    May 01, 2019 @ 17:16
    Lewis Smith
    0

    I got the same issue Roger, but assumed it was related to exporting document types for 7 to 8. If you check the browser console there are some very long errors that are logged that might point you in the right direction.

    Lewis

  • mathieuh 4 posts 74 karma points
    May 22, 2019 @ 20:19
    mathieuh
    0

    I got the same issue here. Did you found something on this? There was this bug here but it's closed. https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/issues/4788

    There is this one too: https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/issues/5202

  • Bryna 62 posts 223 karma points
    May 22, 2019 @ 21:24
    Bryna
    1

    It looks like it is tagged for 8.1.0 release. Since 8.0.2 is the latest version at this time, we'll just have to be patient:).

  • mathieuh 4 posts 74 karma points
    May 23, 2019 @ 14:33
    mathieuh
    0

    This article is clearly misleading. I don't know how to tell them to change this. It said: "We will handle upgrading your database to ensure that all of your content is migrated from the old database schema to the new one using migrations." https://umbraco.com/blog/umbraco-7-to-umbraco-8-a-developer-s-perspective/

    But not only the upgrade doesn't work but we can't import document types.

    Anybody is able to migrate without doing everything by hand?

  • mathieuh 4 posts 74 karma points
    May 23, 2019 @ 20:19
    mathieuh
    0

    I have to say to anybody who's going to upgrade from 7 to 8 that this is NOT the right time to do it.

    First, you can't upgrade the database and this is a big problem. Also, you can't use the import for document types and the packaging didn't work too. You can forget usync since they did a complete different version for umbraco 8. I did not try with usync tought.

    At my company we decided to postpone and upgrade from 7.4 to 7.14. If anybody have a better experience I would like to hear you.

    All this considered I really hope they will do or share all the how to do stuffs and I'm confident that they will. Umbraco 8 is great but it's beta at this moment.

  • Brandon Osborne 37 posts 160 karma points c-trib
    21 days ago
    Brandon Osborne
    0

    I'm actually the one that fixed this issue about a month ago, but it isn't in the current release. You can always download the latest source code from Github and build from that.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft