Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Chris Spanellis 45 posts 189 karma points
    Mar 27, 2019 @ 22:31
    Chris Spanellis
    0

    Issue upgrading to 8.0.1

    After I "upgraded" to 8.0.1, I still see this message when I go to my site:

    Detected current version 8.0.1 (78baf571), which needs to be upgraded to 8.0.1 (80c0a0cb).

    If I look at the Umbraco code, I see that it compares the LocalVersion (the value for Umbraco.Core.ConfigurationStatus in the config file) vs the SemanticVersion (umbracoCoreAssembly.GetCustomAttribute

    When I look for the AssemblyInformationalVersionAttribute, I find

    [assembly: AssemblyInformationalVersion("8.1.0")]
    

    Should that value be "8.0.1" instead?

    Now I'm thinking that's not the issue, but I can see that my database has not reached the final state. No matter how many times I click "Continue" on the upgrade, it stays in the same state.

    {"@t":"2019-03-27T22:35:02.3103953Z","@mt":"Final upgrade state is {FinalMigrationState}, database contains {DatabaseState}","@l":"Debug","FinalMigrationState":"{78BAF571-90D0-4D28-8175-EF96316DA789}","DatabaseState":"{80C0A0CB-0DD5-4573-B000-C4B7C313C70D}","SourceContext":"Umbraco.Core.RuntimeState","ProcessId":28448,"ProcessName":"w3wp","ThreadId":1,"AppDomainId":2,"AppDomainAppId":"LMW3SVC11ROOT","MachineName":"WINDOWS-TDKJCNU","Log4NetLevel":"DEBUG","HttpRequestNumber":1,"HttpRequestId":"4abbefb8-26b9-4ffb-a88f-6f5f71d6a7fa"}
    
    {"@t":"2019-03-27T22:35:02.3103953Z","@mt":"Has not reached the final upgrade step, need to upgrade Umbraco.","@l":"Debug","SourceContext":"Umbraco.Core.RuntimeState","ProcessId":28448,"ProcessName":"w3wp","ThreadId":1,"AppDomainId":2,"AppDomainAppId":"LMW3SVC11ROOT","MachineName":"WINDOWS-TDKJCNU","Log4NetLevel":"DEBUG","HttpRequestNumber":1,"HttpRequestId":"4abbefb8-26b9-4ffb-a88f-6f5f71d6a7fa"}
    

    I'm not sure if FinalMigrationState should be the 2nd param in the debug line either:

    logger.Debug<RuntimeState>("Final upgrade state is {FinalMigrationState}, database contains {DatabaseState}", CurrentMigrationState, FinalMigrationState ?? "<null>");
    

    I think it's reached

    To<MergeDateAndDateTimePropertyEditor>("{78BAF571-90D0-4D28-8175-EF96316DA789}");
    

    but not

    To<ChangeNuCacheJsonFormat>("{80C0A0CB-0DD5-4573-B000-C4B7C313C70D}");
    
  • AddWeb Solution Pvt. Ltd 109 posts 360 karma points
    Mar 28, 2019 @ 06:13
    AddWeb Solution Pvt. Ltd
    0

    Hi Chris Spanellis

    It's minor version release, so use nuget or copy the following folders from inside the .zip file over the existing folders in your site: /bin /Umbraco /Umbraco_Client

    You can also use this approch

    And FYI, UmbracoCms.Web 8.0.1 has been available since a bit after the release one Week since the pipeline to push the package was broken.

    You can find it here: https://www.nuget.org/packages/UmbracoCms.Web/8.0.1

    Thanks,

    Ashish Jain

  • Chris Spanellis 45 posts 189 karma points
    Mar 30, 2019 @ 02:32
    Chris Spanellis
    0

    This doesn't really answer my post at all.

  • Sowndar M 50 posts 124 karma points
    Apr 04, 2019 @ 14:14
    Sowndar M
    0

    For Me I face the same issue. did you solve the issue ?

    Detected current version 8.0.0 (80c0a0cb), which needs to be upgraded to 8.0.0 (78baf571). To compare versions and read a report of changes between versions, use the View Report button below.

    UmbracoTraceLog.txt

    enter image description here

  • Chris Spanellis 45 posts 189 karma points
    Apr 05, 2019 @ 14:06
    Chris Spanellis
    100

    Well sort of. I wound up just updating the database by hand by updating the value in the umbracoKeyValue to {80C0A0CB-0DD5-4573-B000-C4B7C313C70D}, and then I ran the upgrade piece one more time (which I don't think was necessary). After that it was fine. I've done this several times now in upgrading backups to the new version.

  • Stephen 767 posts 2273 karma points c-trib
    Apr 06, 2019 @ 17:10
    Stephen
    0

    Where do you find

    [assembly: AssemblyInformationalVersion("8.1.0")]
    

    That should be only in the v8/dev branch where we, indeed, code version 8.1.0 -- but not in the v8/8.0 branch where we code version 8.0.x.

    And then... the message

    Detected current version 8.0.1 (78baf571), which needs to be upgraded to 8.0.1 (80c0a0cb).

    Seems to indicate that although your web.config file indicates that you are at version 8.0.1, the migration state (kept in the database) thinks you are at state 78baf571 - which was the final migration state in 8.0.0.

    It therefore wants to upgrade you to version 8.0.1 (the version of the code that is executing), and state 78baf571 - which is the final migration state in 8.0.1.

    Now this line

    {"@t":"2019-03-27T22:35:02.3103953Z","@mt":"Final upgrade state is {FinalMigrationState}, database contains {DatabaseState}","@l":"Debug","FinalMigrationState":"{78BAF571-90D0-4D28-8175-EF96316DA789}","DatabaseState":"{80C0A0CB-0DD5-4573-B000-C4B7C313C70D}","SourceContext":"Umbraco.Core.RuntimeState","ProcessId":28448,"ProcessName":"w3wp","ThreadId":1,"AppDomainId":2,"AppDomainAppId":"LMW3SVC11ROOT","MachineName":"WINDOWS-TDKJCNU","Log4NetLevel":"DEBUG","HttpRequestNumber":1,"HttpRequestId":"4abbefb8-26b9-4ffb-a88f-6f5f71d6a7fa"}
    

    Says that final state is 78BAF571 but current state is 80C0A0CB so it would mean that your code is back to 8.0.0 but your database has been migrated to ... which makes no sense, and I think, as you have noted, that something is wrong in our code - things have been swapped. Going to fix this asap.

    So in reality, you are at 78BAF571 (8.0.0 final state) and need to go to 80C0A0CB (8.0.1 final state). What I don't understand then is ... why doesn't it just do it when you click "Continue" in the upgrader?

    A workaround would be to manually change the value in the database to the new final state, and then you'd need to manually rebuild the content cache (Settings / Published Status / Rebuild).

    And yet... it's frustrating ;-) When you click "continue", do you see any error message in your logfile? That would tell you why it does not update the value in the database?

  • Chris Spanellis 45 posts 189 karma points
    Apr 10, 2019 @ 16:09
    Chris Spanellis
    0

    You're right. I was looking in the v8/dev branch when I saw that version. I think I realized that wasn't the issue when I saw the version numbers in on the screen.

    Sorry, but I don't have the logs from when I first upgraded. So not sure why it didn't update the DB for me :/ It's been fine since I manually changed that value in the DB though.

    Thanks,

    Chris

  • Chris Spanellis 45 posts 189 karma points
    Nov 24, 2019 @ 15:20
    Chris Spanellis
    0

    This happened to me again when upgrading to 8.3.0. I had to manually update the database again, and when I would click to install again, it would say it's successful, and then send me right back to the install/upgrade screen again. I'm currently stuck on that upgrade screen and can't move past it.

    Update: I forgot the braces around this GUID this time around on the manual update, but once I put them back in, then it worked. So same issue as last time. Would be nice to know the root cause.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft