Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sandra26 15 posts 115 karma points
    Sep 12, 2019 @ 15:02
    Sandra26

Serializing Umbraco.Content(id) to JSON

Hello , I'm New to Umbraco and I want to create Web Api. So I need help how to serialize IPublishedContent in JSON.

• louisjrdev 107 posts 344 karma points c-trib
    Sep 12, 2019 @ 15:44
    louisjrdev

With Newtonsoft.Json you can:

JsonConvert.SerializeObject(Umbraco.Content(id))

But i have done this in the past and it often crashes as the IPublishedContent object is so large, i would advise mapping the IPublishedContent item to a custom model manually or using models builder, and then serialise that model instead.

• Steven Baker 7 posts 77 karma points
    Sep 12, 2019 @ 15:47
    Steven Baker

Hi Sandra,

Best to use the UmbracoApiController class to manage a transformation of IPublishedContent as the object is too complex for JSON deserialization. You can map it to a less complex object and expose it through the controller. The controller already has access to the Umbraco Helper class which will allow you to do things link query IPC.

Look at the documentation here:

https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/Reference/Routing/WebApi/

Good luck,

Steve

• Lee Kelleher 4020 posts 15802 karma points MVP 13x admin c-trib
    Sep 12, 2019 @ 16:00
    Lee Kelleher

Hi Sandra26,

As the others say, out-the-box, serializing IPublishedContent object will throw various errors. The only way to do it is with a custom resolver for JSON.NET.

See this thread for the code...
    https://our.umbraco.com/forum/umbraco-8/98381-serializing-an-publishedcontentmodel-modelsbuilder-model-in-v8#comment-310148

Then you should be able to do something like this...

@{
        var settings = new JsonSerializerSettings
        {
            ContractResolver = new PublishedContentContractResolver()
        };