Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jamie Attwood 201 posts 493 karma points c-trib
    Oct 21, 2021 @ 14:20
    Jamie Attwood

Umbraco V9 - What is the best practice to develop using Kestrel or IIS?

Bit of a question regarding best practices here. I would love to hear your thoughts on this. I am a seasoned V7-8 dev but pretty new to .NET 5 and I am finding the actual process of development MUCH slower than asp.net to actually make changes, build and preview.

Using IIS and publish in VS2019 with host file and local domain names seemed to be the most promising way to work until I discovered that with every change a publish must be performed which is 1) Really slow as all the files are packaged over to a self contained folder and 2) IIS has to be stopped as it holds on to some of the files causing publish fails. 3) When creating initial templates using the back office (so that they get correctly registered in the database), all the views are created in the publish directory (not your source code directory) requiring these templates to be copied back into your source. 4) same applies to the default ~/models/umbraco directory - models are created in the publish folder.

Using the Visual Studio F5 (Kestrel server) seems to get better dev behavior as it's smart enough to know your working directory so models and views are created in your source folders. However having to relaunch a browser, login to the back end every time with every little change and build is really cumbersome as well.

Is there a way to make IIS behave like kestrel? where we can debug via attaching to process in a similar manner to developing in umbraco 7 and 8?