Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Martin 4 posts 35 karma points
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 22:49
    Martin

Stuff disappears/is outdated from one day to the other

Hi guys,

I've probably read hundreds of threads in this website for more than a year to help me use Umbraco. FYI, I am a complete newbie on web design, have never done anything with html before my company asked me to manage one of their websites. I guess since I am an engineer they just thought I could do this.

Anyway, I've never encountered a problem in Umbraco that I couldn't handle by just researchiing, except for this one: stuff that I change/update/publish in the website using Backoffice randomly disappear over the night, so a lot of stuff in the content tree and Backoffice gets outdated over the night. Meanwhile, the front end of the website stays updated!

I finally understood enough of Umbraco to use localhost in my own computer instead of using the server of my company, and this still happens! I've changed computers, systems (XP/Win7), web browsers (Chrome/Firefox), have deleted cache on them all the time, have republished the entire site everytime I change something, and over the night the problem will still happen! It's driving me crazy! And it doesn't happen with everything I change: only a part of it, and it seems so random! I'm talking about content nodes, template nodes, property nodes, a lot of nodes just disappearing!

I found this file called "Umbraco.sdf" in the App_Data/ folder, which is a database file. It seems it stores tree the nodes, is that correct? Well, when I try to see some nodes that have disappeared using Microsoft WebMatrix, for example, looking at cmsPropertyTypeGroup (a property disappeared recently), Webmatrix crashes.