Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Frank Thode 8 posts 38 karma points
    Jun 17, 2015 @ 19:36
    Frank Thode

Examine index configuration - any ideas ?

I am fairly new to Umbraco, and I am trying to implement a sidewide search feature for our homepage with the Use of Examine.

I am using a out of the box Examine configuration (which should index all content, according to "Examine Examine..." article) - but my serach results are strange. I gather it must be the indexing that is off, but I don't know how to enhance it.

For instance - when I search for "nyheder" (news in Danish), I get two results, which points to blank pages.

And I do not get our actual news page in the results, which has a <h3>Nyheder</h3> tag - and a lot of other text with "nyheder" in it.

Does anyone have a hint to how I set up the ExamineIndex.config file for a full text search for all external pages for the site ?? Getting pretty frustrated with this package !

PS: I have tried installing Full Text Search from Codeplex, but this gives me even fewer search results out of the box

Hope someone can get me further on this .Frank Frank

• Rik Helsen 670 posts 873 karma points
    Jun 18, 2015 @ 07:28
    Rik Helsen

It sounds like the field you have entered this content in is not included in your index?

• Chris Wilson 100 posts 377 karma points
    Jun 18, 2015 @ 07:57
    Chris Wilson

I have experienced something similar to this previously; essentially the index was out of date and the index nodes were pointing at old content node IDs.

Have you rebuilt your index from the Developer > Examine Management section?

Also I assume you are using the standard ExamineIndex.config configuration for the External Indexer - could you paste it here for us please along with the code you're using to initiate the search?

Jun 18, 2015 @ 11:55
    Frank Thode

Hi and Thanks for your replies.