Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Kris Janssen 210 posts 568 karma points c-trib
    May 09, 2017 @ 00:06
    Kris Janssen
    0

    Domain configuration in Umbraco Cloud trial

    After some bad experiences with cheap .NET hosting I have been looking at Umbraco cloud.

    I create a trial instance and pointed one of my domains to it:

    @.mydomain.be     CNAME     mysite.umbraco.io
    *.mydomain.be     CNAME     mysite.umbraco.io
    www.mydomain.be   CNAME     mysite.umbraco.io
    

    I also entered the domain name my domain.be and www.mydomain.be in the control panel of this Umbraco Cloud instance.

    I even added rewrite rules in Umbraco config as per these instructions.

    The rewrite rules work perfectly.

    However, upon first navigation to mydomain.be or www.mydomain.be I am prompted for a password:

    Password Prompt

    This is obviously not good for a public facing site.

    After entering credentials for the backoffice, content nodes will render as expected.

    Also, when I load the page on a slow connection I upon entering mydomain.be I will see mysite.umbraco.io/myrootnodeid flash by.

    Therefore, the site ís navigating to the content node so I really don't understand the reason for the pwd prompt.

    What am I doing wrong here?

  • Nicholas Westby 1883 posts 6259 karma points c-trib
    May 09, 2017 @ 02:17
    Nicholas Westby
    100

    Apparently, this appears on dev/staging environments, and when you are in trial mode: https://our.umbraco.org/forum/umbraco-cloud/83751-remove-authentication-from-devstaging-environments

    Once you pay for Umbraco cloud, that will apparently go away.

  • Kris Janssen 210 posts 568 karma points c-trib
    May 09, 2017 @ 02:48
    Kris Janssen
    0

    Ah yes, that would explain it... Thanks :)

  • Niels Hartvig 1942 posts 2366 karma points admin hq c-trib
    May 10, 2017 @ 14:41
    Niels Hartvig
    0

    We'll update the domain dialog to make this more clear!

  • Kris Janssen 210 posts 568 karma points c-trib
    May 10, 2017 @ 14:48
    Kris Janssen
    1

    Cool!

    The more I look at it the nicer Umbraco Cloud seems. The degree of integration is super nice...

    Is there also a way to 'clean' an instance in Umbraco cloud? If you are just mucking around it would be cool to be able to do that.

    Keep up the nice work!

  • Niels Hartvig 1942 posts 2366 karma points admin hq c-trib
    May 10, 2017 @ 15:15
    Niels Hartvig
    0

    @kris Thanks and the integration between Umbraco CMS and Umbraco Cloud only gets deeper and deeper :)

    Currently we don't have a way to clean an instance (it's on the list), but you can start a new project and reach out to support then we'll move your subscription.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft