Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Alan Mac Kenna 147 posts 405 karma points MVP c-trib
    Jun 30, 2018 @ 17:52
    Alan Mac Kenna

Umbraco Cloud + Baselines + Child Sites

I'm looking for some clarity on a specific use-case I have for the baselines functionality.

I understand that the general way it works is that I have a master project from which I can create child projects and can then push updates from the master to the children. But can I do the following?:

• When restoring content from the master, can I choose which content gets restored or is it an all-or-nothing scenario that you would only really do when initially creating the child project? What I want to understand here is if in the future I add a new feature (e.g. doctype and associated content) to the master site, can I push only that content to the child site without overwriting what may have been changed on that child site from the time the initial content restore was done when it was first created.

• If I add new properties to doctypes on the master whose doctypes have already been pushed to the child site, are those new properties merged into the child sites doctypes without causing issues with the existing content or doctype on the child site?

• Can I add new doctypes, custom libraries etc. to the child sites independently? What I'm not clear on here is whether or not all updates to the site setup (i.e. doctypes, templates, plugins, custom code etc.) need to come from the Master and be pushed to the child. What I'm hoping for is that the master site can provide custom code, templates, doctypes, plugins and umbraco core updates to their children but some elements can be maintained independently by that child site (i.e. custom child templates, doctypes, plugins and custom code relevant to that child site).

Appreciate any insights.

• Sofie Toft Kristensen 3 posts 105 karma points hq c-trib