Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Christian A 21 posts 93 karma points c-trib
    Dec 05, 2017 @ 15:30
    Christian A
    2

    Prevalue Source - SQL Database - Connection String from web.config

    The "SQL Database" option for Prevalue Sources has two fields for connections, one just called "Connection String" and another one called "Connection String from web.config".

    For some reason, that is not obvious to me, both of them have to be filled out and it seems to always default to the "Connection String" and never use the "Connection String from web.config".

    What is the logic behind this if any?

  • lori ryan 54 posts 237 karma points
    May 31, 2018 @ 13:39
    lori ryan
    0

    Hi Christian Having a similar problem myself - would rather not have the connection string in plain text within the cms but pull it from the web.config have you found a way around this?

  • Christian A 21 posts 93 karma points c-trib
    May 31, 2018 @ 16:05
    Christian A
    0

    Unfortunately no, this piece of functionality never seems to have been implemented correctly in Umbraco.

  • jake williamson 145 posts 626 karma points
    1 week ago
    jake williamson
    0

    hey there,

    just found this thread after trying to get a sql database prevalue source working...

    having to enter the connection string rather than selecting it from the web.config is fairly major security issue!

    i'm searching on https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco.Forms.Issues/issues but not seeing anything reported...

    it might not've been fixed yet as they don't know about it?! assuming i'm looking in the right place that is...

  • Christian A 21 posts 93 karma points c-trib
    1 week ago
    Christian A
    0

    I don't think it has ever been fixed / implemented.

  • jake williamson 145 posts 626 karma points
    1 week ago
    jake williamson
    0

    i've chucked it in as an issue:

    https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco.Forms.Issues/issues/223

    just started using the sql database prevalue source in a project. it works really well but having the raw connection string showing in the backoffice is far from ideal...

    fingers crossed it'll be an easy one for them to sort!

  • Christian A 21 posts 93 karma points c-trib
    1 week ago
    Christian A
    0

    Agreed. And they started updating forms again, so lets cross our fingers.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft