Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Shahzad Ahamad 46 posts 246 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 10:13
    Shahzad Ahamad
    0

    How to read Form values in workflow

    Hi,

    I have a contact form with some fields. Please find below the image of the fields.

    enter image description here

    I need to fetch the email value which customer provides while submitting the form in the workflow here. enter image description here

    Also there is a dropdown in the form can I read the value selected by the user in the workflow?

    Any help would be appreciable.

    Thank you

  • Kerri Mallinson 113 posts 497 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 11:21
    Kerri Mallinson
    0

    Hi Shahzad,

    Just so I understand, you want the workflow to send an email to the email address that the user enters in the form?

    If so you need to enter the field alias enclosed in {} in the 'Email' field in the workflow settings: eg {email} or {emailAddress} or whatever the field alias is you have used.

    Kerri

  • Shahzad Ahamad 46 posts 246 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 11:29
    Shahzad Ahamad
    0

    Hi Kerry,

    Thank you for your response.

    But can you also tell me how to find the alias name of the form fields because I cannot find it in the form.

    Can you please also suggest me how to get the selected value from the drop down as I need to send it as the subject of the email

  • Kerri Mallinson 113 posts 497 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 11:34
    Kerri Mallinson
    0

    Hi, the alias is grey text above the field name on your form, eg:

    enter image description here

    It should be the same for getting the subject line - put the alias for the field you want to use inside {} e.g. {howCanWeHelpYou} (or whatever your alias is

  • Shahzad Ahamad 46 posts 246 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 11:40
    Shahzad Ahamad
    0

    Hi Kerri,

    I know that benter image description hereut it is not available in the form

  • Kerri Mallinson 113 posts 497 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 11:49
    Kerri Mallinson
    0

    Thats very odd! Does it show if you click on the settings for the field here?

    enter image description here

  • Shahzad Ahamad 46 posts 246 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 12:00
    Shahzad Ahamad
    0

    I already tried, its not even there.

  • Kerri Mallinson 113 posts 497 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 12:15
    Kerri Mallinson
    0

    I cant think of why it's not showing - maybe try a different browser or its a bug with the version you have perhaps.

    If you have access to the database you can get the alias from this table: [dbo].[UFRecordFields]

    or you can try to guess and test it, they usually generate as the name of field without spaces or special characters and camel case e.g

    Email would be {email}

    Email Address would be {emailAddress}

    First Name would be {firstName} etc..

    Sorry I cant be more help

  • Shahzad Ahamad 46 posts 246 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 12:24
    Shahzad Ahamad
    0

    Thank you for your help Kerri, I have the database access I will try to get the alias name from there.

  • Shahzad Ahamad 46 posts 246 karma points
    Apr 20, 2018 @ 13:29
    Shahzad Ahamad
    100

    I got the alias name from the form json file in \App_Plugins\UmbracoForms\Data\forms

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft