Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Owen 13 posts 105 karma points
    Apr 09, 2019 @ 11:26
    Owen

Referencing form fields in XSLT

I'm new to XSLT and am trying to create a basic file to use on one of my forms so when a user submits they get a confirmation email.

I just want to pull in the user's name into that email but I can't figure out how to reference it. The field is {yourName}.

Can anyone help? Using Umbraco 7.7.6.

Thanks

Owen

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Apr 09, 2019 @ 12:25
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Owen

Can you share what your current XSLT looks like please? :-)

/Jan

Apr 09, 2019 @ 12:30
    Owen

Hi,

This is what I've got:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><xsl:stylesheet version="1.0" xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform" xmlns:msxsl="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xslt" xmlns:user="urn:my-scripts" xmlns:umbraco.library="urn:umbraco.library" exclude-result-prefixes="xsl msxsl user umbraco.library">
    <xsl:output method="html" media-type="text/html" doctype-public="-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" doctype-system="DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd" cdata-section-elements="script style" indent="yes" encoding="utf-8"/>
    <xsl:param name="records" />
    <xsl:template match="/">
    <p>Dear {yourName},</p>
    <p>Thanks for your enquiry.</p>
    <p>We will aim to get back to you soon.</p>
    <p>Regards</p>
    <p>CIEH</p>
    </xsl:template>

The {yourName} field in my form is the one I want to pull through to the email.

Apr 09, 2019 @ 14:55
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Owen

If I remember correctly you should be able to write something like this

<xsl:value-of select="$records//fields/*[caption='YourName']//value"/>

Please note I can't remember how the caption is cased so it could be that you need to look for "yourName".