Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• ID 27 posts 128 karma points
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 17:01
    ID

Rendering contour forms using ajax

Hello,

I'm kind of new with umbraco and Mvc. As I understand for now is that Contour is still a ASP.NET WEb Forms usercontrol. Now i have added a contour form as part of a page by using the macro inside a richtext control (datatype). When i select the "next" button to the next step, the whole page is refreshed which is terrible. With my experrience from ASP.NET Web Forms I could just use a ajax updatepanel to fix this.

I found the thread http://our.umbraco.org/forum/umbraco-pro/contour/39209-Contour-Ajax-Post but I have no idea where en how I could use the Ajax.BeginForm. I thought I had to put it in the MvcRenderContourForm.chtml but this partial not seems to recognise the BeginForm (The namespace doesn't have it, do I have to add some references maybe?)

Can someone point me in the right direction to be able to use ajax to only partly do a postback (Which works for a umbraco 6 Mvc Razor website)?

• Comment author was deleted

Mar 21, 2013 @ 17:32

Hey,

I would suggest that you ask for some details in the post you are refering to, seems that Tom Martin has it working but I don't now what steps are needed...

Mar 28, 2013 @ 10:52
    ID

I've been trying hard to get it working. Now it looks like i'm half way but i really don't understand how umbraco contour (or umbraco) routes the action result. It seems that it's returning the whole page instead of just a view with the form.

To exclude local problems i started a clean new umbraco 6.0.3 project and installed the standard website for mvc.. Replaced the body of the home with the form created with the fine description from Tom Martin. Still I get the following result.