Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 17:56
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Update existing record

    I am using umbraco 6.1.1 and latest contour. In a razor macro i am trying to update an existing contour record my code looks like:

                string formJson = GetFormJson();

     

                using (var recordStorage = new RecordStorage())

                {

                    var rec = recordStorage.GetRecord(new Guid(recordId));

     

                    var form = new FormStorage().GetFormFromRecordId(rec.Id);

     

                    var rs = new RecordService(rec);

     

                    rs.Open();

     

                    rec.GetRecordField(Constants.Form.AnswersJsonField).Values.Clear();

     

                    rec.GetRecordField(Constants.Form.AnswersJsonField).Values.Add(new List<string> { formJson });

     

                    recordStorage.UpdateRecord(rec, form);

     

                    recordStorage.UpdateRecordXml(rec, form);

     

                    rs.Submit();

     

                    rs.Dispose();

     

                } 

    I get error on  rec.GetRecordField(Constants.Form.AnswersJsonField).Values.Clear(); null reference I guess its either the form field alias or i should be passing in form field guid?

    Regards

    Ismial

     

  • Tim 1193 posts 2675 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 17:59
    Tim
    0

    Is it GetRecordField that's null, or the .Values that's null?

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 18:02
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Seems to be rec.GetRecordField(Constants.Form.AnswersJsonField) 

    the value i am passing is the name of the field setup in contour its called Answers i just tried lower casing it no joy.

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 18:09
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Hmm just updated code to

                using (var recordStorage = new RecordStorage())

                {

                    var rec = recordStorage.GetRecord(new Guid(recordId));

     

                    var form = new FormStorage().GetFormFromRecordId(rec.Id);

                    Guid answerFieldGuid = (from f in form.AllFields where f.Caption == Constants.Form.AnswersJsonField  select f.FieldTypeId).FirstOrDefault();

                    var rs = new RecordService(rec);

                    

                    rs.Open();

     

     

                    rec.GetRecordField(answerFieldGuid).Values.Clear();

     

                    rec.GetRecordField(answerFieldGuid).Values.Add(new List<string> { formJson });

     

                    recordStorage.UpdateRecord(rec, form);

     

                    recordStorage.UpdateRecordXml(rec, form);

                    

                    rs.Submit();

                   

                    rs.Dispose();

                  

                } 

    still no joy get Object reference not set to an instance of an object on line rec.GetRecordField(answerFieldGuid).Values.Clear();

     

  • Tim 1193 posts 2675 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 18:10
    Tim
    0

    I think you need to pass in the Guid instead, looking at some old Contour API code on one of my sites (although its a slightly different part of the API).

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 18:11
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Passed in guid still get null grrrr

  • Tim 1193 posts 2675 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 18:11
    Tim
    0

    Odd. I'll have a dig through oneof my old sites when I get home tonight, I might have some example code somewhere I think.

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 18:15
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    awesome many thanks. bit more information the user fills in form that takes them to another page. On that page is another form but this is not contour its a radio button matrix set of questions with weighting values could have done it with my own field type etc but no time so I did this instead. When they submit this i take the values convert to json string and set to hidden field called answers. I suspect that becuase on the first form the field was blank it does not end up in contour.

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 22:15
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Right bit more progress with this. I know what the issue is. If you have a blank field then in the record values its not there. So I have work around in my hidden field I have added a default value now I can get the field and update it. However when I save I get error "Object must implement IConvertible."

    My code now looks like

    string formJson = GetFormJson();

                

                using (var recordStorage = new RecordStorage())

                {

                    var rec = recordStorage.GetRecord(new Guid(recordId));

     

                    var form = new FormStorage().GetFormFromRecordId(rec.Id);

                    

                    var rs = new RecordService(rec);

     

                    rec.GetRecordField(Constants.Form.AnswersJsonField).Values.Clear();

     

                    rec.GetRecordField(Constants.Form.AnswersJsonField).Values.Add(new List

     

                    recordStorage.UpdateRecord(rec, form);

     

                    recordStorage.UpdateRecordXml(rec, form);

                    

                    rs.Submit();

                   

                    rs.Dispose();

                  

                }          

    Full stack trace is

    System.InvalidCastException was caught

      HResult=-2147467262

      Message=Object must implement IConvertible.

      Source=mscorlib

      StackTrace:

           at System.Convert.ChangeType(Object value, Type conversionType, IFormatProvider provider)

           at Umbraco.Forms.Data.Storage.RecordFieldValueStorage.InsertRecordFieldValues(RecordField rf)

           at Umbraco.Forms.Data.Storage.RecordFieldStorage.UpdateRecordField(RecordField recordField)

           at Umbraco.Forms.Data.Storage.RecordStorage.UpdateRecord(Record record, Form form)

     

    Any ideas?

    Regards

     

    Ismail

  • Tim 1193 posts 2675 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 10:11
    Tim
    1

    Cool, was going to say was the value empty, had a similar issue with my code by the look of it, as I check for nulls on them first. I haven't ever run into the error you're getting now though, sorry!

  • Comment author was deleted

    Jun 06, 2013 @ 11:22

    Yup I can confirm that it needs the record id

    Here is a snippet that might help

     var rf = record.GetRecordField(field.Id);
    
                                if (rf == null)
                                {
                                    var key = Guid.NewGuid();
                                    var recordField = new RecordField
                                    {
                                        Field = field,
                                        Key = key,
                                        Record = record.Id,
                                        Values = currentFieldValue
                                    };
    
                                    using (var recordFieldStorage = new RecordFieldStorage())
                                        recordFieldStorage.InsertRecordField(recordField);
    
                                    record.RecordFields.Add(key, recordField);
                                }
                                else
                                {
                                    rf.Values = currentFieldValue;
    
                                    using (var recordFieldStorage = new RecordFieldStorage())
                                        recordFieldStorage.UpdateRecordField(rf);
    
                                }
  • wolulcmit 357 posts 693 karma points
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 09:20
    wolulcmit
    0

    This may be a bit off topic but I'm desperate.

    I've made my own Contour Workflow and need to null check some fields before executing certain code.

    Any idea how to check for a null value of if you dont have the id and only the name as a string?
    for example record.GetRecordField("Your email") always gives me the exception {"Sequence contains no elements"} so I cant figure out how to null check the value.

    - Tim

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3451 karma points c-trib
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 10:38
    Simon Dingley
    2
    record.RecordFields.Any(x=> x.Value.Field.Caption == "Your email")


    Taken from the following post:
    http://our.umbraco.org/forum/umbraco-pro/contour/36380-Custom-workflow-test-if-RecordField-exists

    HTH, Si

  • wolulcmit 357 posts 693 karma points
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 10:43
    wolulcmit
    0

    Whoop! there it is... thanks a bunch Simon.

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies