Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Philip Brookes 4 posts 24 karma points
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 00:15
    Philip Brookes
    0

    Anybody got an example of how to insert a Contour form into a content page?

    I've not yet been able to locate any examples of how the Contour forms are called in a content page. I've heard a few mentions of calling it from a template instead of from the content page - is this essential?

    I know that I can Insert Macro > Insert Form from Contour, but when I do that directly into one of my pages, it shows up in the editor but not in preview or the front end. So I thought I'd look at the code that had been generated - however, I don't know what it's supposed to look like.

    The code that was inserted by the macro looks like this:

    <div class="umbMacroHolder" title="This is rendered content from macro" umbpageid="2061" umbversionid="84f79da2-dbab-4347-96ee-30519bf006d2" onresizestart="return false;" ismacro="true" umb_formguid="9b366fee-1c4f-4cf1-9455-f20b9bee090c" umb_macroalias="umbracoContour.RenderForm"><!-- startUmbMacro -->
    <div id="contour">
    <h4 class="contourPageName">Graduate application form</h4>
    Please complete the following
    <div class="contourField text firstname  mandatory"><!-- Our label --> First Name
    <div><!-- The data entry control --></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourField text lastname  mandatory alternating"><!-- Our label --> Last Name
    <div><!-- The data entry control --></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourField text phonenumber  mandatory"><!-- Our label --> Phone Number
    <div><!-- The data entry control --></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourField text mobile  alternating"><!-- Our label --> Mobile
    <div><!-- The data entry control --></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourField text email  mandatory"><!-- Our label --> Email
    <div><!-- The data entry control --></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourField radiobuttonlist whichbestdescribesyoureligibilitytoworkinaustralia  mandatory alternating"><!-- Our label --> Which best describes your eligibility to work in Australia?
    <div><!-- The data entry control --> <span class="radiobuttonlist">Citizen/Permanent Resident<br />Holder of a working visa<br />Require sponsorship<br />Other</span></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourField  pleaseattachyourcoverletter  mandatory"><!-- Our label --> Please attach your cover letter
    <div><!-- The data entry control --> <span></span></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourField  pleaseattachyourresumé  mandatory alternating"><!-- Our label --> Please attach your resumé
    <div><!-- The data entry control --> <span></span></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourField  pleaseattachyouracademicresultsothersupportingdocumentsifrelevant "><!-- Our label --> Please attach your academic results/other supporting documents (if relevant)
    <div><!-- The data entry control --> <span></span></div>
    <!-- Our Tooltip --> <!-- Validation --></div>
    <div class="contourNavigation"></div>
    </div>
    <!-- endUmbMacro --></div>

    Note: I'm a novice! I'm teaching myself as I go. So it may be obvious to others. But if I could see a working example that would be great. So far I can't find any documentation that outlines it, and every time somebody talks about it on the forums they refer to an approach without explicitly showing it on the post! :-)

    I think it's something to do with needing some <form> tag, runat="server", that sort of thing... but I can't find the correct syntax anywhere.

    Thanks in advance!

  • Evan Jardine 108 posts 168 karma points
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 01:45
    Evan Jardine
    0

    Hi Philip

    For the form to display and function you will need it to be contained within <form ranat="server"></form> tags.

    For Example, in your template:

    <form id="myForm" ranat="server">

        << insert contour form using macro >>

    </form>

    Hope this helps you.

    Cheers

    Evan

  • Neil Campbell 58 posts 182 karma points
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 02:41
    Neil Campbell
    0

    Hey Evan,
    Just a quick note it's actually runat="server"

  • Philip Brookes 4 posts 24 karma points
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 02:46
    Philip Brookes
    0

    Evan, you've made the comment "in your template"... can I just clarify, it's imperative that it's placed in the template? I've been trying to place it directly into the content page, but this apparently doesn't work/isn't possible?

  • Neil Campbell 58 posts 182 karma points
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 02:58
    Neil Campbell
    0

    Hi Phillip,
    This should work no worries, as I have Contour working in the same way.

    I think there were some issues in earlier version with inserting a Contour form via the RichText editor.
    I would upgrade your Contour version to the latest nightly build:

    http://nightly.umbraco.org/Umbraco%20Contour/1.0.8/

    Do a backup, and then use the update zip to update your contour version.

    Hope this help :)

    Cheers,
    Neil

  • Philip Brookes 4 posts 24 karma points
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 05:28
    Philip Brookes
    0

    Thanks Neil! Running around like a chicken without a head right now, so will try to look at that over the weekend and see if it fixes it...

    Cheers!

  • Neil Campbell 58 posts 182 karma points
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 06:37
    Neil Campbell
    0

    Haha no worries.
    Another thing to try if that doesn't work is to check that you are not nesting forms or have more than one server form (<form runat="server">) in the template.

    Cheers,
    Neil

  • Evan Jardine 108 posts 168 karma points
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 21:58
    Evan Jardine
    0

    Looks like you've got this sorted, sorry about the typo...

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft