Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• karen 186 posts 461 karma points
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 17:55
    karen

Courier test hangs

I trying to test out courier and how it works.  I installed it on my localhost and am trying to transfer to another test site on my localhost.

I set it up, changed courier.config:

<

server addToContextMenu="true" alias="development">localhost</server>

restarted Umbraco, clicked 'transfer to development' and now it is just hanging.  Basically my umbraco control window is just blank and if I mouse over it shows the hourglass.  Been like that for 15 minutes or so already.

I am new to Umbraco.  I have it set up and trying different sorts of things to see how it can work and what it can do.  So if you have an answer please explain in Umbraco-newbie term, Thanks.

Umbraco version 4.0.2.1

Thanks,

Karen

• Niels Hartvig 1951 posts 2391 karma points c-trib
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 20:16
    Niels Hartvig

Sounds like you're copying to the same environment as the source which would cause an endless loop. The destination should be different from the source installation to test Courier.

Hope this helps!

Dec 15, 2009 @ 20:27
    karen

I can have multiple websites running on one server and multiple databases - So how do I do this on the same server? 

I don't see in the config file how do you specify which database or site to transfer to?

• Dennis Milandt 190 posts 517 karma points
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 14:49
    Dennis Milandt

Consider two independent umbraco installations. One running from c:\Websites\Site1 and one running from c:\Websites\Site2. In each of their web.config files they have a different connectionstring defined and connects to two different databases. The sites should be identical if you want to test Courier.

Now, have two websites on your IIS, one loading site1 from www.site1.com and the other from www.site2.com.