Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Roland Egedi 10 posts 110 karma points
    Dec 11, 2019 @ 12:22
    Roland Egedi

Macros in v8 (should they be used?)

I am new at Umbraco and have only used v8.

I watched a video learning about Umbraco 8, but now I can't find that video... But in the video I think the dev said that going forward we shouldn't use Macros in Umbraco since this would be phased out (or something like this).

But I can't really find any info on this, and I can't find that video again. 🤯

So is my memory correct? Or did I inhale heavy CPU-fumes while watching the video..?

I did find this discussion, but it is from 2016: https://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-8964

Is it "best practice" to use Macros in v8? Also going forward, regarding updates and so on?

Thanks!

• Steve Megson 151 posts 1022 karma points MVP c-trib
    Dec 11, 2019 @ 15:36
    Steve Megson

I wouldn't say that we shouldn't use macros at all, but they are needed much less often than in previous versions. Many things that needed a macro before can be done with a partial view, and if a partial view will do the job then you should probably use one.

The main reason to use a macro will be if you want to embed it within a grid or rich text editor. I think I'd only use a macro directly in a template if I want to cache the results. You can also use Html.CachedPartial to get similar effects, but sometimes I find it useful to be able to see the cache settings in the back office rather than having them set in the template.

• Javed 7 posts 88 karma points
    Dec 11, 2019 @ 17:20
    Javed

I also would like to know if Macro usage is not a good practice and whether it will be deprecated in future releases.

In my current (first) Umbraco project, I am heavily using Macros for:

1. Componentize page
    2. Reuse content across the site with Macro Parameters
    3. Render different UI for same content