Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Colin 46 posts 146 karma points
    Dec 11, 2019 @ 21:41
    Colin

Getting started with Umbraco and Entity Framework

I'm new to Umbraco and would like to look into using Entity Framework for adding additional functionality to a site and database tasks.

I would prefer to start with version 7 as it seems to come across a little more reliable (though if there is enough help and support on 8 that would to be fine but if looks a little buggy too).

I would be using MVC so I'm looking for a starter guide or a very brief debo to get me going. I've searched a number of articles but I find arrive missing bits so not entirely clear how things should best be approached.

I also noticed some people download from GitHub where others install this NuGet through Visual Studio. Which is the preferred method and why?

Could I use Visual Studio 2017 and/or 2019 query Umbraco 7?

Would be great if someone could guide me or point me to a simple article.

• Magnus Eriksson 122 posts 362 karma points
    Dec 12, 2019 @ 07:50
    Magnus Eriksson

Starting a new web site today I would certainly use Umbraco v8, unless there's some very critical feature you need that is only available in v7.

You can use VS2019 and I would install using nuget since it's much easier to handle updates and dependencies.

The umbraco source code is hosted on github but you shouldn't use that for building your web site, but rather for contributing to the development of the core.

Regards, Magnus

Dec 12, 2019 @ 08:39
    Colin

Thanks Magnus, it's there a particular minor version I could target with Umbraco 8? Rather go for a particular version that's production ready.