Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Jonny Flanagan 33 posts 162 karma points
    Jan 07, 2020 @ 10:48
    Jonny Flanagan
    0

    Lucene Index Corrupt Exception crashes site

    Hi all,

    Running version 7.15. My site was taken down by the below Lucene Corrupt Index error. From the stack trace I don't believe it is related to any custom code. Has anyone received this error and resolved it permanently?

    By rebuilding the index again and restarting app pool the site began to function. The concern is it will occur again and cause another outage.

    Thanks in advance for any help!

    Lucene Index Corrupt

  • Yakov Lebski 326 posts 1221 karma points
    Jan 07, 2020 @ 16:07
    Yakov Lebski
    0

    Did you try to reset umbarco cache and rebuild indexes?

  • Jonny Flanagan 33 posts 162 karma points
    Jan 08, 2020 @ 11:34
    Jonny Flanagan
    0

    Hi Yakov, Thanks for your reply. Yes I did that to resolve the issue but am concerned it could happen again and I am trying to prevent it. Any ideas on what caused this?

  • Yakov Lebski 326 posts 1221 karma points
    Jan 08, 2020 @ 16:26
    Yakov Lebski
    0

    sometimes custom data gathering code can be reason for it.

  • Jonny Flanagan 33 posts 162 karma points
    Jan 16, 2020 @ 17:34
    Jonny Flanagan
    0

    This happened again today. Took the whole front end of the site down as the pages refer to content held on the index - which is corrupt!

    Anyone have this before?

    enter image description here

    enter image description here

  • Ismail Mayat 4405 posts 9633 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jan 17, 2020 @ 09:29
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Jonny,

    How are you hosting? Are you load balancing?

    That 2nd image missing lucene dll is really weird?

  • Jonny Flanagan 33 posts 162 karma points
    Jan 24, 2020 @ 11:34
    Jonny Flanagan
    0

    Hi Ismail, I am hosting on prem, not load balanced.

    I think it could be app pool related. We have two IIS sites pointing to the same source files. One site is public facing, no /umbraco access. The other is internal with /umbraco access.

    Both sites were running their own app pools and I think this was causing the lock/corruption? Switching to run both under the same App pool seems to have resolved it for now.

    Have you ever done anything similar?

    Thanks Jonny

  • Ismail Mayat 4405 posts 9633 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jan 24, 2020 @ 11:47
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Jonny,

    Yes but one would have been elected as primary and the other as secondary. See https://our.umbraco.com/Documentation/Getting-Started/Setup/Server-Setup/Load-Balancing/flexible-advanced-v7 you are not load balancing as such but its a similar situation in that one of them is for editing content and the other is for reading only

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft