Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mark 14 posts 84 karma points
    Apr 23, 2020 @ 04:51
    Mark

Inserting custom meta description tag on each page.

Hello community,

I am trying to create a custom meta description for each page on my Umbraco website. I want to add a doc type to my page settings called 'Custom Meta Description'. enter image description here The home page will always have a meta Description but other pages like the about page may or may not. In the event that another page does not have a Custom Meta Description declared I would like to use the Custom Meta Description that is on the home page.

I am very new to Umbraco and razor code so if you could leave me some detailed information on how to achieve this I would be very grateful.

Thank you in advance!

• Marc Goodson 2141 posts 14324 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Apr 23, 2020 @ 06:20
    Marc Goodson

Hi Mark

Within each page template you could either check to see if a value for your custom meta description property exists on the page and if not get a reference to the homepage content item and read the fallback value from there, or if you might want to fall back to the page directly above for the value, and then if that is blank the page above that, all the way back up to the homepage, then you can write out the property with 'recurse' set to be true... and Umbraco will do that for you!

Option 1 - check if value exists

@{
    var customMetaDescription = "";
    if (Model.Content.HasValue("customMetaDescription"){
        customMetaDescription = Model.Content.GetPropertyValue<string>("customMetaDescription");
    }
    else {
        var homePage = Model.Content.Root;
        customMetaDescription = homepage.Content.GetPropertyValue<string>("customMetaDescription");
    }
    }
    <meta name="description" value="@customMetaDescription" />

or

Option 2 - recursive property