Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• wdr1986 2 posts 72 karma points
    Apr 27, 2020 @ 15:13
    wdr1986

How to make changes in the backoffice using Visual Studio?

Hello, I am new to Umbraco and I have just builded my Visual Studio solution used UaaS.cmd using this chapter of the documentation - https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/Umbraco-Cloud/set-up/Working-With-Visual-Studio/.

I am working locally and when I push changes using git command, my live environment is also updated.

The thing is, it works fine when I change content of the website, but it doesn't work that fine when I try to make changes in the backoffice. Let me give you an example.

I am changing the content of home.cshtml file under MyUmbracoNamespace.Web/Views by adding "<.h2>TEST SENTENCE<./h2>" (have to add dots, so HTML editor doesn't apply this to my message). I am running website by pressing F5 in the Visual Studio and I can see that changes have been made. I am using git commands to push this change to the live environment (git add Views/home.cshtml and git push origin master). After a while I can see changes are working there too. See image below enter image description here

Now things will look a little bit weird. I want to make changes in the Umbraco backoffice, for example to change names of some menu items and so on. Let's say I want to change macro name from "Get Latest Blogposts" to something else. I am searching for this name in my solution and I am finding .uda file that contains following

"Name": "Get Latest Blogposts",

So I am changing value to "Get Latest Blogposts 123" (just to see if change will apply). I am repeating steps I did while updating home.cshtml and looking for changes. It turns out that it hasn't been applied to my local environment, but it has been applied to my live environment.