Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Göran Westman 10 posts 90 karma points
    May 05, 2020 @ 13:23
    Göran Westman

Unable to edit templates

Hi, I'm new to Umbraco and I'm trying to help out an organization whose website has been orpaned by the company that built it in the first place, a company is no longer among us...

The problem is in the first place that I'm unable to get into the editor for the templates. Everything else seems to work, and the frontend work, but as soon as I try to open a template in Settings -> Template I get the following error.

Server Error in '/' Application.
    Parser Error
    Description: An error occurred during the parsing of a resource required to service this request. Please review the following specific parse error details and modify your source file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: Could not load type 'Umbraco.Web.UI.Umbraco.Settings.EditTemplate'.

Source Error:

Line 1:  <%@ Page MasterPageFile="../masterpages/umbracoPage.Master" Language="c#" CodeBehind="EditTemplate.aspx.cs"
    Line 2:      ValidateRequest="false" AutoEventWireup="True" Inherits="Umbraco.Web.UI.Umbraco.Settings.EditTemplate" %>
    Line 3:  

Source File: /umbraco/settings/editTemplate.aspx    Line: 1

Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:4.0.30319; ASP.NET Version:4.7.3535.0

Umbraco version 7.13.1

Does anyone have a good solution/workaround? I don't have FTP or server access at the moment.

Best regards Göran Westman

• Alex Skrypnyk 6131 posts 23950 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    May 05, 2020 @ 14:04
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hi Göran

It looks like the site was upgraded but trees.config wasn't updated accordingly.

Can you go to /config/trees.config file and update needed key with this:

<add application="settings" alias="templates" title="Templates" iconClosed="icon-folder" iconOpen="icon-folder-open"